Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 5000 rpms.

EBRforum Junkie

5000 rpms.

Start at the beginning. I have a 2015 EBR1190SX. Tips & 44t rear sprocket with the correct race ecm.
    I have a weird thing happening. Between 4700-5000 on accelerating I get what sounds like a pinging sound. I run 93 octane gas. Also tried octane booster with no difference.
    A while ago I had to end up using 89 octane(Broken pump). Well about 10 miles later the pinging all but stopped!!!
    Since then I've run at least 4 tankfuls of each, filling when tank was very low. With the same results!
    I'm sure it's pinging but why does lower octane help stop it!!?? I've been riding for 47 years & worked on bikes when I was younger. STUMPED!

EBRforum Novice
    Since octane affects burn rate and flame front, the higher octane could be burning in a manner that the flame front hits all sides at once, where the lower octane does not.

I'd run what doesn't knock. But that's odd.

My Firebolt started randomly pinging and I run 91. I will try 87 at next tank.

EBRforum Junkie
    Thanks for your thoughts.

EBRforum Novice
    I put 89 in my Firebolt. Still pings, no more no less. Perhaps my issue is elsewhere.

Since higher octane fuel burns slower and more controlled (to resist pinging), I would have to think gas quality is the issue. I'd try different stations before I settled on a faster burning gas.

EBRforum Newb
    I have just the opposite scenario. If lower octane gets used bike runs rougher and is not happy. Won’t rpm as easily which is a good thing so no harm gets done to the engine.