PDA

View Full Version : Volumetric Efficiency

oldtimerookie
09-04-2015, 10:41 PM
I'm currently studying for my mechanical PE, so been spending a lot of time in my engineering books and looking up stuff online. I came across this online and found it pretty interesting:

"The actual amount of air the engine ingests compared to the theoretical maximum is called volumetric efficiency (VE). An engine operating at 100% VE is ingesting its total displacement every two crankshaft revolutions."

VE = ( 9411 x HP x BSFC ) / (DISPLACEMENT x RPM)

For the RX assuming it makes 185 at the crank at around 10K

= (9411 x 185 x 0.45) / (73 x10,000) = 107%

"For contemporary naturally-aspirated, two-valve-per-cylinder, pushrod-engine technology, a VE over 95% is excellent, and 100% is achievable, but quite difficult. Only the best of the best can reach 110%, and that is by means of extremely specialized development of the complex system comprised of the intake passages, combustion chambers, exhaust passages and valve system components. The practical limit for normally-aspirated engines, typically DOHC layout with four or more valves per cylinder, is about 115%, which can only be achieved under the most highly-developed conditions, with precise intake and exhaust passage tuning."

Pretty cool, at least I think so!

buell-fan
09-04-2015, 11:21 PM
That is pretty cool! Thanks for sharing.

d_adams
09-04-2015, 11:53 PM
So bumping that output up by 14 hp at the wheel nets you what?

oldtimerookie
09-05-2015, 12:10 AM
So bumping that output up by 14 hp at the wheel nets you what?

Assuming 185HP Crank & 160HP RW thats about 14% loss
Therefore 14HP RW asuming same loss should yield about 16HP Crank Gain or 201HP at crank (Very cool, breaking the two century marker!!!)

9411x201HPx0.45/73/10000rpm = 116%