PDA

View Full Version : Chain slap and O2 code

Dynoman
08-21-2015, 07:21 AM
I'm new to EBR as I've just acquired an 1190rx. Bike was "new" at auction in the crate. Once opened up it was a demo bike with 415 miles on the clock. After a bunch of effort to track down why she would not start I got her going. First ride was to Deals Gap (Dragon). I have 2 issues I hope you guys can shed light on.
1. The chain sag is set at 30mm per the book but it seems to miss teeth and jumps and slaps violently until 4500 rpm or so. To travel 62 mph I must run in 4th gear or lower. 5-6th cannot be used for fear of damage. The chain and guide is getting its butt kicked! Ideas?
2. About every 3rd time I fire it up and generally it's a hot start I get an engine code. It's for the front O2 heater. Turn it off it's gone. I assume it's a bad O2 but in my experience it would not come and go, bad is bad. Ideas?

zviadi
08-21-2015, 07:58 AM
2. About every 3rd time I fire it up and generally it's a hot start I get an engine code. It's for the front O2 heater. Turn it off it's gone. I assume it's a bad O2 but in my experience it would not come and go, bad is bad. Ideas?

A similar problem. Do nothing, so I drove nearly 6,000 miles.
Counter-question - how did you know of this inscription on the dash, that the case of O2 sensor?

zviadi
08-21-2015, 08:05 AM
About the chain - until I have never regulated her tension. It is still in the admission. Nothing rattles and slaps, whole teeth. Often fire before rev limiter in the four gears.

Slickit
08-21-2015, 12:01 PM
Dynoamn,