PDA

View Full Version : Valve Technology

Dutch
05-19-2015, 07:59 PM
So, aside from my 1190rx and xb, I own 2 Ducati 748's. At the heart of every competitive ducati sits a desmodromic valve system. If you are un aware of this technology it removes about 90 percent of spring tension from the valve train, helping reach higher horsepower, due to the fact the engine no longer has to fight that spring tension. To put it into perspective a Japanese inline 4 has 4 valves per cylinder each spring requires nearly 300 pounds of pressure to compress. That's about 4,800 pounds of pressure the engine needs to fight, and it's all lost power. So I got to doing research on other valve technologies that would allow for less spring tension, and came across a technology known as CSRV, or rotary valve technology. If EBR was able to incorporate something like this it would increase horse power and torque like no tomorrow. Below is a video, and website link. I'm no mechanical engineer, so let me know what you think, and if this idea is way more farfetched than it seems to me haha

http://www.coatesengine.com/csrv-system.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDsRa4eT7co

oddball
05-19-2015, 09:11 PM
I remember seeing pics of the Coates engine long ago. It never went anywhere. Looks like their making chinese deals now.

LineArrayNut
06-06-2015, 10:12 PM
If it were truly fighting thousands of ft lbs of spring energy, you couldn't bump start it or turn it by hand. What is being compressed is being liberated elsewhere. That's the genius of the ottos and others back in the day. There is parasitic drag and friction, but no where near thousands of pounds NET.

Dutch
06-08-2015, 09:39 PM