PDA

View Full Version : New 1190RX Owner

Dutch
05-10-2015, 11:48 PM
Hello,

I just picked up the last RX available in Northern California this weekend. I love the bike, it is the most powerful bike I've owned, and my first brand new bike. I have a few questions.

The bike seems very boggy at low RPMs and sometimes dies when in neutral at a red light. The guy I spoke to at my dealer said the engine will need some breaking in to flatten out the idle, my question is how much breaking in? The bike is at about 90 miles on the odometer now.

The gear indication on the gauge seems very laggy, is this typical for everyone?

Also is anybody aware of the number of these bikes produced, and the number of them distributed in California? Mine is number 37

and last, does anybody have any advice, or tips for maintaing my RX

Thanks

Capt
05-11-2015, 06:40 AM
[QUOTE=Dutch;2334]Hello,

Hey Dutch,

I am no expert so take my advice with a grain of salt. Other more mechanical types on here will have better input but for what it's worth, have you ever had a twin before? There are some noticeable differences and characteristics of vtwins if you are used to inline 4s that take some adjustment if you have never had a race bike twin of this size.
If you haven't your description might just be that you have never experienced twins of this sort and you may be expecting the eager hum of a Japanese bike...they don't run all buzzy, steady, and hyper ready to go like an inline.
You will find that Vtwin big bore bikes are like a chain smoker at the end of life-- whilst sitting at idle they will be hot, hacking, coughing, spewing and generally unpleasant.
I had a Ducati 1098S that could barely breathe in town. BUT, once you get moving all that changes. My Duc couldn't even stand to be below 60mph. These bikes aren't really, in truth, built for city riding, they are built to race and aren't comfortable until they reach higher speeds/rpms.