PDA

View Full Version : On the Fence .. dont own an EBR yet

jstoll
10-18-2017, 08:20 PM
Hey folks... Ive really loved EBs work for a long time...never owned a buell or an EBR though.. I built an 05 Sportster from the ground up... with allot of mods its about 105 at the rear wheel... not much compared to a stock ebr :-) I do love my bike but I feel like Id like something with more power, handling and braking ...my main concern with picking up an EBR is parts... the EBR engine does not look like a Rotax 1190 or 1290... the cases and heads look different... so.. where to get a water pump or pistons and rings? bearings? Im an ASE Master Tech... Ive been in the trade 35 years... working on the bike is not a problem... I guess the other thing is the longevity of the bike... Im curious if anyone has many miles on one... and what kind of stuff comes up? the bike is on par with some of the best bikes around and is allot less expensive right now.... I think Id go with an SX
any input anyone has would be greatly appreciated

take care
JAK

Cooter
10-18-2017, 09:28 PM
Do an easy search on here, Badweb, BuellXB, Facebook, or Google. This question has been asked many, many, times. Check the stickies for typical problems for the early bikes.

Your concerns are understandable but unwarranted. Theres guys with 30K+ miles already
(http://ebrforum.com/showthread.php?1512-Nuther-little-milestone).
Plenty of parts available at the dealers, plenty available on E-bay, plenty available from LAP, and plenty available from private party.

The main point is with complete and utter powertrain destruction, or god forbid you send it off a cliff, just get the insurance check and have eBay ship you another one, then post the parts that are left for sale on here.

Cooter
10-18-2017, 09:56 PM
Heres my copy/paste for answer to the same question (about Buells) 2 days ago: